Home » The Children’s Room » Reading Lists

Reading Lists

Looking for an award winning book?
You’ve come to the right place!

Here are some selections for 2019 Children’s Books…
Come check them out at the library!

Image result for hello lighthouse

The Caldecott Medal has been awarded annually since 1938 by the Association for Library Service to Children, to the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children. The winner for 2019 is Hello Lighthouse by Sophie Blackall.




Image result for awkward book

The Connecticut Nutmeg Book Award now offers 4 age appropriate categories of award-winning books each year: Elementary (Grades 2-4), Intermediate (Grades 4-6),  Teen (Grades 7-8) and High School (Grades 9-12). Above is the 2018 Intermediate winner, Awkward by Svetlana Chmakova.



Image result for the stuff of stars

The Coretta Scott King Award goes to “authors and illustrators of African descent whose distinguished books promote an understanding and appreciation of the ‘American Dream.'” Separate awards go to authors and illustrators; there are Award winners and Honor books. The 2019 illustrator winner is Ekua Holmes for The Stuff of Stars written by Marion Dane Bauer.



Image result for merci suarez changes gears

The John Newbery Medal  has been awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children to the author of “the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children” since 1922. The award is in honor of the eighteenth-century British bookseller John Newbery.  The winner for 2019 Merci Suárez Changes Gears, written by Meg Medina.



Image result for thank you omu

The John Steptoe New Talent Award is awarded to new talent to offer them visibility in excellence in writing and/or illustrating. The 2019 author winner is Monday’s Not Coming by Tiffany D. Jackson. The 2019 illustrator winner is Thank You, Omu illustrated by Oge Mora.



Image result for the fox on the swing

The Mildred L. Batchelder Award is for an outstanding children’s book that was originally published in a language other than English in a country other than the United States. The 2019 winner is The Fox on the Swing written by Evelina Daciūtė, illustrated by Aušra Kiudulaitė, and translated by The Translation Bureau.



Image result for dreamers book

The Pura Belpré Award established in 1996, goes to “a Latino/Latina writer and illustrator whose work best portrays, affirms, and celebrates the Latino cultural experience in an outstanding work of literature for children and youth.” It was first given every two years, so there are no entries for 2007 or 2005, for example. In 2009, it became an annual award. Like the Coretta Scott King Award, there are awards for both authors and illustrators. The 2019 author winner is The Poet X by Elizabeth Acevedo. The 2019 illustrator winner is Dreamers written and illustrated by Yuyi Morales.



Image result for the girl who drew butterflies by joyce sidman

The Robert F. Sibert Informational Book Award is given annually “to the author of the most distinguished informational book published during the preceding year.” There is an award winner and honor books. The 2019 winner is The Girl Who Drew Butterflies: How Maria Merian’s Art Changed Science, written by Joyce Sidman.



Image result for rescue and jessica

The Schneider Family Book Award honors an author or illustrator for a book that embody an artistic expression of the disability expeirence for child and adolescent audience. The 2019 winner for young children is Rescue & Jessica: A Life-Changing Friendship written by Jessica Kensky and Patrick Downes, illustrated by Scott Magoon. The 2019 winner for middle grade is The Truth as Told by Mason Buttle written by Leslie Connor.


Image result for finding langston

The Scott O’Dell Award was established in 1982 by the noted writer of historical fiction, who hoped to increase interest in the genre. It is awarded annually to “a meritorious book published in the previous year for children or young adults. To be eligible, “a book must have been published as a book intended for children or young people, set in the New World, published in the United States, and written in English by a citizen of the United States.” The 2019 winner is Finding Langston, by Lesa Cline-Ransome.



Image result for fox the tiger

The Theodor Seuss Geisel Award  is given annually to the author(s) and illustrator(s) of the most distinguished American book for beginning readers. The award is named for the world-renowned children’s author, Dr. Seuss. The 2019 winner is Fox the Tiger, written and illustrated by Corey R. Tabor



Children’s Room:
860-447-1411 ext. 4